Brown Selected As Semifinalist For Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award


FORT WORTH, Texas — Oregon quarterback Anthony Brown is one of 20 players to be named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced on Tuesday.
Brown is the only Pac-12 quarterback to be selected as a semifinalist, and one of nine seniors. He joins Justin Herbert, Marcus Mariota, Dennis Dixon, Joey Harrington, and Bill Musgrave as Oregon QBs to be named semifinalists for the award. Mariota became the first Duck to win the honor in 2014.
The next step in the process will be to select the award’s three finalists based on voting from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee as well as the second round of the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, which will take place on the award’s social media accounts. The top five vote getters on each platform will receive bonus committee member ballots, which will be added to the votes cast by the National Selection Committee. 
The three finalists will be announced on November 23. The winner will be announced live on December 9 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. 
Anthony Brown – Dave O’Brien National Quarterback Award
» Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award top 10 finalist
» 153-of-241 passing for 1,895 yards and 11 TDs.
» No. 1 among Pac-12 quarterbacks with seven rushing TDs.
» No. 3 in the Pac-12 with 258.3 yards of total offense per game.
» 84-of-118 (71.2%) for 945 passing yards and eight total TDs in the last four games.
» Five games with at least 200 yards passing and 35 rushing.
» Accounted for game-winning or game-sealing TD in four of Oregon’s eight wins.
» 25-of-31 (80.6%) for a career-high 307 yards and three TDs vs. Colorado.
» First UO QB since Herbert in 2019 to complete 80 percent of his passes in a game.  
» No. 2 among active Pac-12 QBs with 6,797 career passing yards, and third with 53 passing TDs.
2021 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Semifinalists
Brennan Armstrong – Virginia
Stetson Bennett – Georgia
Anthony Brown – Oregon
Matt Corral – Ole Miss
Jake Haener – Fresno State
Frank Harris – UTSA
Sam Hartman – Wake Forest
Hendon Hooker – Tennessee
Sam Howell – North Carolina
Grayson McCall – Coastal Carolina
Tanner Mordecai – SMU
Kenny Pickett – Pittsburgh
Desmond Ridder – Cincinnati
Will Rogers – Mississippi State
Carson Strong – Nevada
C.J. Stroud – Ohio State
Caleb Williams – Oklahoma
Malik Willis – Liberty
Bryce Young – Alabama
Bailey Zappe – Western Kentucky
Oregon All-Time Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Semifinalists
1989 – Bill Musgrave (Finalist)
1990 – Bill Musgrave (Finalist)
2000 – Joey Harrington (Semifinalist)
2001 – Joey Harrington (Finalist)
2007 – Dennis Dixon (Finalist)
2014 – Marcus Mariota (Winner)
2018 – Justin Herbert (Semifinalist)
2019 – Justin Herbert (Semifinalist)
2021 – Anthony Brown (Semifinalist)

Print Friendly Version


Previous Story

Richardson Named to Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 Watch List

Next Story

City Webpage News Item – Middle Housing

Latest from Firehose

Brahms and Bartók

11/18/2021 to 11/18/2021 - The Eugene Symphony will showcase two musical giants in one captivating evening

Piano Masterclass

11/16/2021 to 11/16/2021 - Watch 2021/22 Eugene Symphony guest artist Joyce Yang work with three talented